Welcome to the official website of the Howard County Horse Shows Association!

2016 SCHEDULE     SHOW RESULTS     Standings

The Howard County Horse Shows Association was established in 1979 to provide Howard County and surrounding area residents with rated quality horse shows at convenient locations. Today, HCHSA still provides family-friendly, affordable horse shows with challenging and safe courses. HCHSA members compete for year-end and perpetual awards which are given out at our gala awards banquet. Junior riders also have the opportunity to win the $2500 Junior Achievement Scholarship. There are divisions for riders and horses of all ages and experience levels. We look forward to seeing you!


UPDATE: HCHSA Summer Show at McDonogh School

Due to this weekend's forecast of high temperatures, we will be starting our show early. The new start times are as follows:

Indoor: Starting at 7:30AM (schooling until 7:15AM)
Ring 1: Starting at 7:30AM (schooling until 7:15AM)
Ring 2: Starting at 7:00AM (schooling until 6:40AM)

Show coats are excused for BOTH shows this weekend. They are excused for all divisions, including equitation, and we encourage all participants to wear polo shirts instead. Stay cool!

HCHSA Summer Show at McDonogh School

The updated prize list for the tri-pointed HCSHA Summer Show at McDonogh School is available now! Please click here to download; please disregard previous prize lists and refer to the updated one instead. Online pre-entry is available on HorseShowing.com. Points earned at this show count toward qualifying for the Colonial Classic! We hope to see you there.

Important note: Mini, short, and long stirrup riders cannot bi-point at this show due to cross entry restrictions. You must pick the association in which you wish to earn points and compete in those classes only.

HCHSA May Updates

Congratulations to Ashlyn Halliday and Lady Grey, the first winner of our free Awards Banquet ticket raffle! We will hold another raffle at our Summer Show on Sunday, July 24th at McDonogh School.

Each ring at our Summer Show will also feature a special offering: the hunter ring will have the Home Run Derby; the jumper ring will have stake classes with prize money; and the indoor ring will have a raffle among the division champions with a special prize. More details coming soon!

If you have attended any of our shows so far this season, please take a moment to fill out a brief show survey. Thank you!

HCHSA Spring Show at Pickwick Stables

The prize list for the HCHSA Spring Show at Pickwick Stables is now available - please click here to download. Please note that the Spring Show will have jumper classes as well as handy hunter classes in several divisions! Online entry is available at HorseShowing.com. We are participating in the Colonial Classic Horse Show this year, so all points earned from HCHSA shows will go toward qualifying!

If you attended our Pre-Season Warm-Up on March 26, please take a moment to fill out a show survey. All thoughts/comments are appreciated!

Vaccination Records

Please note that all exhibitors must furnish proof of vaccinations, including EHV-1 and EHV-4, in order to participate in all HCHSA shows.

In Memory of Gretchen Mobberley

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of our vice president, Gretchen Mobberley. Gretchen passed away on February 21st at home surrounded by family. Gretchen was a founding member of the association, and her accomplishments and contributions to the equine community are innumerable. She will be greatly missed by all.

A celebration of Gretchen's life will be held on March 7 at St. Andrew's Episcopal Church in Glenwood, MD at 12:00PM, with a reception to follow.

Please keep Gretchen's family and friends in your thoughts and prayers during this difficult time.

2016 Registration

The 2016 registration form is now available! Please click here for the mail-in form or here to register online using PayPal. We encourage everyone to register early to prevent holdups in the entry booth at the shows. Also, don't forget that our Pre-Season Warm-Up on March 26 will award double points to all HCHSA members! Points are not retroactive, so both horse and rider must be registered with HCHSA prior to the show to earn points.